HARRISON, N.Y. -- Make sure you're wearing your seat belt when driving through Harrison. The Harrison Police Department will aggressively enforce the seat belt laws during a two-week campaign from May 20 to June 2.
"In New York State, it is estimated that only about 84 percent of motorists wear safety restraints. The ongoing campaign works to continually increase this use rate," Harrison Police Chief Anthony Marraccini said in a statement.
All drivers and front seat passengers must wear seat belts. Additionally, all children under the age of eight must be restrained in an appropriate child restraint system. All children under 16 must buckle up, regardless of whether they are in the front seat or back seat.
The fine for someone over 16 who is not wearing a seat belt is $50 plus court costs. If a child under 16 is not wearing a seat belt, the fine ranges from $25 to $100 and the violation will add three points to your driving record.
- 1 Hutch Reopens After Overturned Vehicle Accident; Stop-And-Go Delays On I-95
- 2 Westchester Residents Warned About New Massive IRS Phone Scam
- 3 Daughters Defend Mother Who Drove SUV In Fatal Train Crash On 'Today' Show
- 4 TV Show Interview With Daughters Of SUV Driver In Fatal Crash Postponed
- 5 Cuomo Bans Non-Essential State Travel To Indiana