Contact Us
Harrison Daily Voice serves Harrison, NY
Return to your home site


Harrison Daily Voice serves Harrison, NY

Nearby Towns


Harrison Model Congress Team Receives High Praise

Harrison High School's Model Congress Team was the only public school to have won "outstanding delegation" at last weekend's Princeton Model Congress Competition in Washington D.C. It was the first honor of its kind in the club's history.

Students competed in mock Congress sessions in both individual committees and full sessions, where seven team members won the coveted "Gavel Award" for outstanding individual performances and eight others earning honorable mention distinctions.

As a warm-up to the national competition in Washington D.C., the model Congress team also competed in the one-day Horace Mann Model Congress Competition as the only public school in attendance. Rep. Nita Lowey (D – 18th Congressional District) was the conference's guest speaker and made several references to the Harrison High School community and the exceptional students who have interned in her office, the school said.

At Horace Mann, the HHS Model Congress Team won two "Gavel Awards."

Student Rep. Jacob Seidman won for "Best in the Ethics Committee," where he presented an Ethics bill entitled, An Act to Implement Medical Amnesty. Student Rep. Jacob Temkin won "Best in Full Session," the best speaker at the conference, where he argued for his bill entitled, An Act to Improve American Innovation and Competition.

Ninth Grader Mareille Sheck's Energy and Natural Resources bill – Energy Efficient, Motion Detection Lights in Corporate Office Buildings, was included in the full session bill packet.

Individual awards at the Princeton Model Congress were:

- Jacob Seidman: Red Senate: Judiciary: GAVEL- Jacob Seidman: Red Senate: Full Session: GAVEL- Julia Druckman: Red House: Judiciary: GAVEL- Angela Troia: Red House: Science and Technology: GAVEL- Nicole Suozzo: Red Senate: Environment and Public Works: GAVEL- Hayley Kronthal: White House: Judiciary: GAVEL- Matt DiRe: White Senate: Environment and Public Works: GAVEL- Jacob Temkin: Red Senate: Foreign Relations: Honorable Mention- Jacob Temkin: Red Senate: Honorable Mention- Thomas Lovinger: Blue House: Full Session: Honorable Mention- Thomas Lovinger: Blue House: Energy and Commerce: Honorable Mention- Aaron Kaplan: White House: Science and Technology: Honorable Mention- Emma Adler: Blue Senate: Judiciary: Honorable Mention- Rajan Mehra: Environment and Public Works: Honorable Mention- JT Nangle: Blue House: Judiciary: Honorable Mention

Harrison High School Delegates in Attendance at Horace Mann:

- Ben Adler (10): Ethics- Michelle Aguirre (9): Foreign Relations- Sam Colangelo (10): Ethics- Matthew Druckman (9): Ethics- Jared Gaynes (9): Health, Education, Labor & Pensions (HELP)- Brain Goldstein (11): Homeland Security- Jake Korek (10): Energy and Natural Resources- Coby Lefkowitz (10): Ethics- Liliane Lindsay (10): HELP- Daniel Maldonado (10): Homeland Security- Eileen Molloy (10): HELP- Meghan Molloy (10): Ethics- Hunter Sable (10) HELP- Jacob Seidman (12): Ethics- Jack Shapiro (9): HELP- Marielle Sheck (9): Energy and Natural Resources- Harrison Steins (9): Foreign Relations- Jacob Temkin (12): Foreign Relations

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Harrison Daily Voice!

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Harrison Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.